School and Horses. Mountains and Tides.

 

Mount Teide. Tenerife.

Yesterday I didn’t get round to writing a blog. I had to go out to the North side of the island after school, where the weather is cold and it is always cloudy. We went to the north because for the last month I have been learning how to horse ride so we were going to buy a hat, body protector and boots for when I continue horse riding in Turkey. It was suggested by the owner of the stables here that the equipment in Turkey may not be as professional as the equipment that we use at La Caldera Del Rey. http://www.tenerifehorses.com It all started when one night Geoff, mum and I were sitting in a restaurant and we met a lovely lady called Maz, who told us about her friend Karen who owns a stable just the other side of San Euengio in the middle of a banana plantation.There are beautiful places to trek here and the horses are very friendly and kind. I have been riding under the tuition of Karen for about six weeks now and two weekends ago I entered my first gymkhana. It was loads of fun and I actually won two rosettes, one for second place overall and the other for being best newcomer.

As we left the south of the island the weather immediately got worse – as it invariably does – however the scenery was still stunning. After a 40 minute drive to the outskirts of Santa Cruz we arrived at a shop called Decathlon ready to buy my equipment. As Karen and Maz got to work finding my size shoes, hat and protector, Geoff and I were wondering about exactly how large this store was. After 5 minutes they had found the perfect size equipment for me and after that Geoff and I left them in the riding department.

We looked at the cycling departments, clothing departments, sailing departments and then we found what we were looking for…the camping section. We needed to get things here because for the first time on a road trip we are going to camp (because normally on these road trips we stay at hotels) Geoff bought an airbed and pump (for them, not me. Apparently I’m young and tough and have been watching a lot of Bear Grylls lately and reading The Famous Five, so I know how to make a comfortable bed out of a pile of ferns!) Camping gas (for the stove and lamp) spare tent pegs and a mallet. After a busy day shopping, we all headed back to the south where the weather was sun,sun,sun.

19th of April 2016

This morning I have had school which generally starts at 7:30 am. I was supposed to do double English, but had too many history corrections, so wrote a mini essay about Queen Mathilda and Thomas Beckett instead. Mum and I are working so hard at the moment to try and complete as much as we can before we leave here, English is the main one as we know we can spend a couple of days whilst on the ferry completing the maths topics, and in English at the moment we are looking at the language used in the news. Its alright, but I prefer travel writing.

Then this afternoon once school was complete, I left to go riding at the stables. I left home on my bike at half past 2 ,so I could be there at quarter to three. Today I wore my Brand new body protector, hat and shoes. I was trekking today – not in the piste – through the banana plantations on one of my favourite horses called Ruby. I went with Karen, who is the instructor at La Caldera Del Rey and she rode Maci. My friend, Mollie was there again, she is also learning to ride. She was riding Azur.

Both Azur and Maci are scared of the wind and on most of the trek they looked very tense! Its been blowing a hooley for two days now, which is most unusual. Ruby and I though, were calm. That was until we came upon a huge mountain of cow manure, not like a pat from a cow, more like a mini Vesuvias! it was enough to scare the horses but wether it was the pong or the sight of it, I don’t know! It was the first time Karen had ever seen it too and I think she might alter the route in future as it freaked out the horses a lot. Even though the other two had ridden right up to it, I wasn’t too sure, and neither was Ruby, so we turned around and went the long way.

As we went through the plantations the trees rustled and the horses stayed alert! The wind really keeps them on their toes.

Author: adventurerintrainingblog

I am a 14 year old boy and live and am home schooled by my parents aboard our 45 foot sailing yacht which we sail from Turkey. I have travelled through/ across Europe by road, several times now, and have also driven into the heart of Turkey, visiting Konya, Cappadocia and many other places. You can read about both of these experiences on the blog... However, at the moment you can read about our life aboard our yacht in Turkey during the winter... I hope you can come along for the ride, then sail along with me as I blog my sailing adventures for next year!

One thought on “School and Horses. Mountains and Tides.”

Leave a Reply

