On Your Marks…

After a few days of not writing, I figured that it would be rude not to write something about the preparations to this once in a lifetime journey.

26th April 2016

DSC_0131
Asena felt like a new dog after her check up! 

Today I woke up quite late.  Half past seven which is about the time I start school on an average day. However, today was different, today was our second to last day on Tenerife, and there were still many jobs to be done. At eight o’clock I began school but only until nine thirty, when Mum and I needed to take our small Papilion, called Vodka, to the vets five minutes down the street.  She was getting a check up, like Asena had done the day before.  This is in preperation for the trip and to ensure that they were up to date with their vaccinations etc, for their pet passports.  They also looked beautiful because they had both had showers and been groomed by me.  After coming back from the vets we stopped to get some Spanish pastries for break.  After that short break, I got straight back to school.

Later that day , After all my schooling was complete , Summer, Geoff (Papa), Mum and myself went for lunch.  We met Summer outside her new workplace called ‘Alex’s Bar’ were we had a drink for ten minuets and then went to the Tenerife Version of KFC, called TFC.  This is a lot healthier than the real KFC because the chicken is made with natural ingredients and flavours, ( at least that what mum tells me when she has the urge to “chicken out”)…After the meal we thanked the cook and Geoff for lunch and we went to do our own things. Summer went to her house, Geoff went back home and Mum and I went to the local hardware shop to buy some Gas for our stove and lamp. After still not finding the correct ones to fit we turned to head back home to relax in the sun.

Then at six o’Clock, as the day began to cool we started packing our luggage into the back of the truck. There were so many bags, I had the good job of standing guard over the deposited bags as Mum and Geoff carried all the luggage up the steps. Thankfully, the trucks flat bed was very large so, after much squeezing, placing, and fitting, our truck was almost ready to go…  Mum is worried because there are still so many cushions not in the truck, four bottles of vodka and a bottle of Jim Beam. This could be a frightening scenario, I hope they don’t plan on getting rid of them all tonight, you know – waste not want not??!! Two days tomorrow…….I can’t wait!

DSC_0201
Vodka wasn’t keen to have her temperature taken at the vets today.

Author: adventurerintrainingblog

I am a 14 year old boy and live and am home schooled by my parents aboard our 45 foot sailing yacht which we sail from Turkey. I have travelled through/ across Europe by road, several times now, and have also driven into the heart of Turkey, visiting Konya, Cappadocia and many other places. You can read about both of these experiences on the blog... However, at the moment you can read about our life aboard our yacht in Turkey during the winter... I hope you can come along for the ride, then sail along with me as I blog my sailing adventures for next year!

3 thoughts on “On Your Marks…”

    1. The cushions fate was sealed! The new tenants of the villa have moved into a cushion wonderland!!
      Summer probably has a hangover because two bottles of Absolute Vodka were too big to pack, but the Jim and the Gin were going in, no matter what!

      Like

Leave a Reply

