On The Road Again

image

Training the Adventurer……..

 

30th April 2016
After a very good nights sleep, and Asena waking me up at 9 o’clock in the morning,because mum had knocked on my patio door, I got up immediately, because we were missing breakfast and my stomach was rumbling. Today we were going to the town of Tarifa, 194 miles down the coast from Huelva which was expected to take us about 3 hours.
On departure though, with us all sitting there, seat belts on, packed in tightly amongst stuff, mum says; ” oh look, there’s a dog that looks like Vodka….” , erm, where IS Vodka!?!?

That WAS Vodka and we were close to driving off and leaving her behind, outside the hotel. Don’t let it be said that we have done that before, no, we’ve never left our berth in the yacht, to see Vodka standing looking puzzled at the end of the pontoon, watching us! Debating a picked dive entrance and quick doggy paddle to catch us up! She is a good swimmer, but even she isn’t that brave/daft……Asena, on the other hand!

Huelva had seemed like a nice dog walking area, with all the large open nature reserves and botanical parks. Lots of different bird life here too,hoopoes, storks nesting on every pylon, massive broad wings, we need to google them to see what they could be and herons and egrets.
Once back on the road the traffic was flowing okay but as we came closer to the city of Huelva, the roads became busier so we experienced some stops, however, this gave me time to admire the lush, rolling green fields and bright blue sky. Pretty scenery after volcanic deposits and banana plantations. Crops, tractors, fields, grass and BULLS!!!!!!! Big ones with Horns!

image

 

Once back on the move the traffic became quick again. We found Huelva very Spanish ( go figure! ) which is what I’m enjoying more on this road trip. Tenerife seemed Very English, we are finding that we all prefer the traditional Spanish lifestyle, food and weather!

After much progress and more flat green land, I feel asleep in the back resting my head on Asenas furry body using her as a cushion. Seemed like a good idea at the time, as we approached Tarifa I woke up from my slumber with a really stiff neck…as well as hair covering me from top to bottom, and stuck all over my face, ACHOO!

I could see in the distance,the large kites that kitesurfers use and now a vast expanse of sea. More excitingly was that further beyond the sea was the outline of Morocco! Once at the hotel, which wasn’t too far from the sea, we set about unpacking, and more importantly finding somewhere to have a beer! The bar was just across the road, and down a small alleyway where mini Glastonbury was taking place. ( summer would love it here!!) We scrambled our way through the people and onto the White, golden sand, which stretched for miles upon end.
On the beach we swam and I played with the dogs in the water, however, it was quite a surprise when I first got in because it was so cold, nothing compared to the warm waters of the Canaries!

After the nice swim and drinks we came back to the room, and went out to the restaurant, a short walk from the hotel.I had King prawns with some traditionally Spanish roast potatoes and onions and green bell peppers.
Mum and Geoff shared a grilled fished platter of king prawns, Monkfish, Squid, Swordfish, Salmon and a side garnish of a jacket potato. Flamenco guitarists played into the night and the sea crashed on the shore.

I’m glad we are staying here for two nights!

Author: adventurerintrainingblog

I am a 14 year old boy and live and am home schooled by my parents aboard our 45 foot sailing yacht which we sail from Turkey. I have travelled through/ across Europe by road, several times now, and have also driven into the heart of Turkey, visiting Konya, Cappadocia and many other places. You can read about both of these experiences on the blog... However, at the moment you can read about our life aboard our yacht in Turkey during the winter... I hope you can come along for the ride, then sail along with me as I blog my sailing adventures for next year!

3 thoughts on “On The Road Again”

      1. I saw Vodka looking shocked the first time it happened, and Geoff had to back the boat up to the jetty. I couldn’t help laughing reading about it happening to her again.

        Like

Leave a Reply

