Check Out The View From My Classroom

School Sucks!

26th May 2016

So, it’s been a while since I last wrote. The “jet lag” of the ten Countries trip has worn off and I’ve been back at school. So even if I haven’t written anything for on here I’ve been overdosing on English and still writing because before we embark upon our next adventure I’ve got to finish year sevens school curriculum. There’s been TRIPLE ENGLISH for three days! The final modules are on dialect, accent, social etc and idiolect, plus essays and assessments! I’m all ” Englished out”!

Sitting in my ” classroom” ( see pictures ) and watching all the yachts sailing out on the beautiful breezy days makes me want to be sailing – but there are still lots of final jobs to be completed before we have our shake down sail.

At least it was some light relief to sit down at the chart table and scan the charts and pilot books which would be used for our Greek Island sailing trip, this summer. Geoff and I were checking out all the technicalities and anchoring ease etcetera, planning times for sails and amount of days to be spent where, and mum was looking at the holiday brochures for the best shopping villages and spas…..

In June, when we leave here, our plan is as follows…..
Leave Fethiye and stay in Gokek bay for a night
Sail along the coast to our previous home port, Marmaris
Go down the coast to a bay called Bozuk Buku
Sail around the Bozukalle peninsula and enter the little harbour of Bozburun
Sail over to the tranquil Greek island of Symi
Come back to Turkey spending one night in Ova Buku, another small bay
Back to Greece, going to Kos
Then it is time to explore Kalimnos, Leros and Pathos.

( this is the plan so far, as with any sailing cruises this plan can and moreover will be subject to HUGE changes! ) That’s cruising for you!

We will be staying mostly around the Cyclades and the Dodecanese islands – our Russian friends in their boat ” Sea Dream” will be around there too – somewhere- and we will probably hook up with the Zealanders in ” Wrighteau” somewhere along the line aswell. We have to meet some friends from the UK who are holidaying at Samos, and aswell as all that, I am told that Mum NEEDS to go to Mykonos ( shopping trip needs ) Skopelos – where ” Mama Mia ” was filmed and

So far the sources we have been using for information for the up coming trip ( because the Internet has been seriously rubbish since we got here ) have been the pilot books for Greek waters and the pilot book for Turkish waters ( which are like sailing information manuals for specific areas of sea ), charts ( which are like maps of the ocean with depths and dangers illustrated G3 and G35 ) The. ” Rough Guide for the Dodecanese and the East AEGEAN ( circa 1993 ’cause Mum found it in a charity shop a few years back) We could do with a Cyclades one. A book I bought once in Symi, about Greek Mythology, to give some substance to the stories of the islands and a travel brochure for Greece and Cyprus from 2015. After reading the last one I just mentioned please now observe as my writing style becomes all superfluous, with descriptions that are sweeping, contemporary and hedonistic, steeply cascading in style and charisma and are utterly divine.

Oh dear, I’ve swallowed a travel brochure, put that in your English language pipe and smoke it!

 

After some more school, mum and I , because Geoff was at the bank and stuff we headed out for a cycle ride to the closest beach to us called Calis Beach. Our bikes were looking very clean and shiny, because Geoff had taken them for a service at the bike shop in the centre of Fethiye and mine had lots of parts replaced like the brake pads, front axel, new chain etc….boys will be boys. Our ride took half an hour, and at Calis we stopped for an ice cream watching the sun set over the blue sea….
Tomorrow we plan to relax in the warm, wait for it…..28 degree heat sunbathing….ahh, that’s the life! ( after triple English again of course! Bah! )

This is the trailer for my new adventure…. Check me out on The YouTube!!!!

 

Author: adventurerintrainingblog

I am a 14 year old boy and live and am home schooled by my parents aboard our 45 foot sailing yacht which we sail from Turkey. I have travelled through/ across Europe by road, several times now, and have also driven into the heart of Turkey, visiting Konya, Cappadocia and many other places. You can read about both of these experiences on the blog... However, at the moment you can read about our life aboard our yacht in Turkey during the winter... I hope you can come along for the ride, then sail along with me as I blog my sailing adventures for next year!

3 thoughts on “Check Out The View From My Classroom”

Leave a Reply

