Waiting For The Off..

 

We Begin Where The Road Ends….

19th June 2016

Today was a tiring day, that may be for one of two reasons, either it was because the previous night ( Saturday ) I had stayed up until quarter past ten because I was reading an excellent book by Chris Ryan, or it was because I was still tired from going on a two-hour trek to the beach from the desperado stables on Saturday too, which was wonderful.  However, today was a morning of more horse riding, so to get there in time we left at half past seven so I could get to the stables and practise.  From our location at the other end of Fethiye to where our stables are at Yaniklar, which is on the way to Gocek, it’s a half an hour drive.

Once we got to the stables, Geoff and I watched Zikky ride the stables 1.9 metre Hanoverian horse, and even practise some jumping!  At the stables, we practised walking, trotting, cantering and, most importantly- heels down, toes out!

Its Sunday, and as usual the sun was shining, the temperature was hot…..and that means it’s time for the beach! And at 12 o’clock, after completing our jobs we left for the beach.  Before we leave on our trip one of the most important jobs is to top up our tan, and once we got to Koko Calis, we found some sun beds at the far end of the beach, so the dogs wouldn’t disturb anyone, and started putting on sun cream.  Today the sea was calm, but the surf cafe was hot and beach was very busy.  We are currently planning on leaving on Wednesday and we will start heading towards Kos and the other North Aegean islands that belong to Greece.

there wasn’t much else to talk about today, because it was spent relaxing in the sun….but I suppose there isn’t, much chance of avoiding the sun in this wonderful place!

20th June 2016

The sound of vodka squealing to go out to the loo woke me up at 8:00, so, still quite tired from the two nights before, I leapt out of bed to let Vodka out. The schedule for today was to go to the town and stock up on food and water, and let mother buy some MORE bikinis!  We left Geoff with his jobs and headed out into the streets of Fethiye where immediatly mother noticed a shop that contained loveliness and needed some attention IMMEDIATELY!  It’s a good job mum didn’t have too much money, or else she would have bought the whole shop!

After a few hours in the hot, claustrophobic streets of the bazaar, we headed back to the boat  and on the way, we asked the staff of the Yacht Boutuique hotel if we could use their pool If we came for lunch. Of course this was OK.

After fetching Geoff from his laptop and his cool air conditioned office – the saloon in the boat (!) –  we took him with us to the swimming pool and had lunch.  The pool was cool, just what you needed on a day when it was 36 degrees in the shade!  For three hours, we sat by the pool and I was deeply absorbed by my book, the last of the series by Chris Ryan….what will I read when I’ve finished this!!

Soon, we left and headed back to the boat where we drank lots of water and planned for our trip to The Famous Greek islands…

watch this video I made with quick go pro…formerly Replay!

https://quik.gopro.com/v/5s2wHq1pLx/

Author: adventurerintrainingblog

I am a 13 year old boy and live and am home schooled by my parents aboard our 45 foot sailing yacht which we sail from Turkey. I have travelled through/ across Europe by road, several times now, but this winter my family and I will be setting of in to the heart of Turkey, including Konya, where hopefully we will be able to see the hypnotic Whirling dervishes, Cappadocia, where we can visit the fairy chimneys, caves houses, and watch the hot air balloons lift in to the sky. We will also get to visit the wonderful Turkish Coastline, including hotspots like Antalya, Alanya and Mersin. I hope you can come along for the ride, then sail along with me as I blog my sailing adventures for next year!

1 thought on “Waiting For The Off..”

Leave a Reply

