Odd Shoe Bay

25th June 2016

As I woke up from my slumber to the songs from the birds, I went up the companion way (1) and  into the cockpit(2), were I saw that the turquoise waters were flat, and the tall, and the towering cliffs had kept out the sun for that little bit longer.  Mum and Geoff  were still asleep in there cabin(3), but ten minutes later they were awake.

Today, we were planning on going to an old stop off which we had been using since 2013, we called it “Odd Shoe Bay”- the reason for this name was because  when we were here in 2013, we held our very first'”Odd Shoe Bay Olympics”.

This international games held many different competitions such as swimming, diving, rowing, beach tennis, volleyball-(but we never actually complete this challenge because Asena catches the ball and pops it)-and at the end of the competition, we have an odd shoe hut, were each competitor goes around the beach with a plastic bag picking up the odd shoes.   We ended up with over 200 shoe and we built them up into a large mound and a sign which said “odd shoe bay ”

The last time we held one of these, “Olympics” was last year, but this time  we were only staying here for one night.

After a cup of Cay, I took the dogs a shore for the loo. Once over there, I saw some hoove prints of the mountain goats.  Last night, these wild and dare develing animals hurtled themselves down the almost-vertical cliff, as if they were cannonballs, a bit like parkour for goats!  I expect that they came during the evening because during the day, the black sand gets incredibly hot.

Once we got out of the bay and into the open sea, the waves of the Rhodes Channel hit us immediately.  I felt like being in a washing machine……not that I have ever been in one but still!😀

Today was very hot, 37 degrees to be precise, and the lack of wind made the situation worse.  As we neared Odd shoe bay, we cruised past the two small marinas to have a look if we fancied staying there or not. The main one was called My Marina, and the other one was called Inceler restaurant and jetty. Both near our bay in Ekincek, so if this time we were attacked by wasps or flies, we could run away.  The problem we had with Odd shoe bay last time was the amount of flies, and as Johnny found out, they bite you…..so this time, we were hoping to be a “not very nice looking meal ” for the man eating flies!

That evening, we had dinner and prepared for the busy day that lay ahead  tommorow

1. Companion way-These are the name for steps on boats

2. Cockpit-the area where we eat outside
3. Cabin-The name of the rooms on board

Author: adventurerintrainingblog

I am a 13 year old boy and live and am home schooled by my parents aboard our 45 foot sailing yacht which we sail from Turkey. I have travelled through/ across Europe by road, several times now, but this winter my family and I will be setting of in to the heart of Turkey, including Konya, where hopefully we will be able to see the hypnotic Whirling dervishes, Cappadocia, where we can visit the fairy chimneys, caves houses, and watch the hot air balloons lift in to the sky. We will also get to visit the wonderful Turkish Coastline, including hotspots like Antalya, Alanya and Mersin. I hope you can come along for the ride, then sail along with me as I blog my sailing adventures for next year!

1 thought on “Odd Shoe Bay”

Leave a Reply

